July 20, 2024

Off-cycle polls: INEC declares Governor Diri winner of Bayelsa governorship election

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has declared Governor Douye Diri  winner of the Bayelsa State off-cycle governorship election held on Saturday.

INEC’s state Returning Officer and Vice-Chancellor, Federal University of Technology, Minna, Prof. Kuta Farouk, made the announcement at the Prof. Mahmood Yakubu Media Centre, INEC, Yenagoa, Bayelsa State

The incumbent governor of Bayelsa defeated Chief Timipre Sylva, candidate of the All Progressives Congress, APC, and sixteen others to get another four years in office.

Prof. Farouk declared that Governor Douye Diri polled 175, 196 votes, to defeat his closest rival, Chief Timipre Sylva, who got 110, 108 votes.

He won in six of the eight local government areas of the state to cement his stay in office.

His closest rival and the candidate of the All Progressives Congress, APC, Timipre Sylva, won only two LGAs.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *